Skip to content ↓

Physics Competition Successes

Students have worked hard competing in Institute of Physics competitions throughout the year, with some fantastic results!

Throughout the academic year, pupils from Upper 5, Lower 6 and Upper 6 have extended themselves and entered the challenging Institute of Physics competitions. We are delighted with the quality of the results attained and would like to congratulate our pupils for doing so well.

In the GCSE Physics Challenge competition, Joe Edwards and Peter Boardman came top with Silver Awards. Bronze Class 1 was awarded to Aaron Owen, Jay Fung and Jacob Bircher, with Bronze Class 2 going to Thomas Southall, Jennifer Dunstan, Oscar Wood, Millie Cast, Oliver Baylis, Adam Coates, Ella Abi-Sleiman, Stephanie Taylor, Matt Wilding, Sam Holder, Harry Greenway and Holly Hill.

Despite the AS Physics Challenge taking place during the snow when some pupils had left early, three pupils gained Silver Awards: Angus Choy, Tom Hobbs and Yunjae Kim. Ericsson Wong gained Bronze Class 1, whilst Matthew Churchill, John Berry, Jason Cook and Lian Choi gained Bronze Class 2. Commendations went to Calvin Chen, Rachael Williams, Georg Dosse and Sarah Etherington.

The Physics Olympiad took place in November for Upper 6 pupils, and this is always an incredibly challenging competition, designed to select members for an international competition. James Morris and Anselm Ogden (pictured) each gained Bronze, with Toby Edison, Jumpei Okamoto and James Stanley gaining a Commendation.

Well done to all of our award winners!